Skateboarding Hall of Fame 2015 Induction Ceremony

2015 IASC Skateboarding Hall of Fame
Icon Awards Speeches and Inductees Speeches
Filming by Dan Levy and Vans Davey. 
Photos by Dan Levy

James O'Mahoney Icon Award Speech

Tracker Trucks Icon Award Speech

Steve Van Doren Icon Award Speech

Duane Peters Acceptance Speech

Cara-Beth Burnside Acceptance Speech

Neil Blender Acceptance Speech

John Cardiel Acceptance Speech

IASC Skateboarding Hall of Fame 2015 – All

The International Assn. of Skateboard Companies and the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame are proud to announce this year’s Icon Award recipients for the 6th Annual Skateboarding Hall of Fame: Steve Van Doren, James O’Mahoney and Tracker Trucks. The Skateboarding Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held on May 14, 2015, at the Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel in Costa Mesa, Calif.

Created in 2009, the Icon Awards celebrate industry pioneers and cultural icons who have left a permanent imprint on the history of skateboarding and our culture throughout the years. The Icon Awards are voted on by the IASC Board of Directors.

This year’s Icon Award goes to three hugely deserving candidates:

Steve Van Doren
Steve starting working for Vans at the age of 10. The one thing that Steve’s father, Paul Van Doren, drove home with his kids: that to be successful, they had to be more passionate and work harder than their competitors, and no one has more passion and loves their job more than Steve Van Doren. As the vice president of events and promotions and unofficial ambassador of fun for Vans, Steve spends nearly 40 weeks a year on the road, including a grueling non-stop stretch each summer traveling with the 48-city musical sideshow, the Vans Warped Tour. Whether it’s a legends skateboarding competition, a concert at the House of Vans or a live mural painting, it is Steve’s calling to deliver events that the young at heart everywhere can enjoy. Through these events and his dedication, Steve continues to be a longstanding supporter of the skateboarding industry. His father’s philosophy was that it was the people who made Vans special, and under Paul’s leadership, that’s as true now as it was in 1966.

James O’Mahoney
James O’Mahoney has been a major influence in surfing and skateboarding over the last six decades. He founded both the United States Skateboard Association and the later World Skateboard Association. Additionally he was the publisher of Skateboard in 1975, which became the first skate magazine of the modern era. James also organized the infamous Signal Hill Downhill races of 1975-78 and 2004’s Highest Wall Ride competitions. Both of the aforementioned events were the first of their kind and were sanctioned by the Guinness Book of World Records. As a sponsor he supported a numerous other early contests, and his Skateboard Magazine team included such legendary individuals as Tom Sims, Russ Howell, Leroy Grannis, James Cassimus, Laura Thornhill, Kenny Means, Waldo Autry, Steve Monahan and Gordy Lineman. O’Mahoney’s photographic skills have been featured in Newsweek, Time, Life, Sports Illustrated and on CBS Sports. James founded the Santa Barbara Surfing Museum in 1992 and became the WSA West Coast Surfing Champion in 1993.

Tracker Trucks
Tracker set the bar in skateboard truck design in 1975 that everyone followed – and still do – the Tracker truss design and four hole mounting pattern is used by almost every truck company on the market. Tracker Trucks was designed by skateboarders, R&D’d by skateboarders and has always given back and supported skateboarding every step of the way. This year marks a big milestone for Tracker Trucks, as they celebrate the company’s 40th anniversary. To commemorate the occasion, they are publishing a book called TRACKER- Forty Years of Skateboarding History, it’s 400 pages filled with just about every iconic skateboarder.

Previous Icon Award Recipients: CR Stecyk, Larry Stevenson, John Humphrey, Frank Nasworthy, Glen E. Friedman, Black Flag, NHS, Devo, Warren Bolster, Fausto Vitello, Pipeline Skatepark, J. Grant Brittain

This year’s Skateboarding Hall of Fame inductees include: Brian Logan (1960s), Henry Hester (1970s, Era One), Duane Peters (1970s, Era Two), Neil Blender (1980s, Era One), Chris Miller(1980s, Era Two), John Cardiel (1990s), and three women – Robin Logan (1970s), Cara-Beth Burnside(1980s), and Elissa Steamer (1990s).

Previous (ISHOF) Inductees: Bruce Logan, Torger Johnson, Danny Bearer, Tony Alva, Stacy Peralta, Jay Adams, Tony Hawk, Steve Caballero, Mark Gonzales, Danny Way, Eric Koston, Bob Burnquist, Patti McGee, Peggy Oki, Woody Woodward, Tom Sims, Alan Gelfand, Rodney Mullen, Christian Hosoi, Wendy Bearer Bull, Laura Thornhill Caswell, Gregg Carroll, Jim Muir, Steve Olson, Lance Mountain, Natas Kaupas, Laurie Turner DeMott, Ellen Oneal Deason

IASC Website:





























































2014 Skateboarding Hall of Fame
Acceptance Speeches
Steve Olson

Lance Mountain

Jim Muir

Natas Kaupas


2014 Skateboarding Hall of Fame

The 2014 Skateboarding Hall Of Fame induction ceremony was another one for the history books. The inductees this year included a wide range of skateboarding’s finest and and most celebrated riders and behind the scenes icons. We are fortunate enough in our beloved art of skateboarding to be able to give recognition to those participants who started it all and many of them are still alive to be able to tell their stories. We have lost some great leaders and icons in skateboarding as well and to be able to pay homage to them in front of their peers is something to hold in high esteem. I can’t think of any other sport that celebrates it’s dysfunctional community with unconditional love and heckling the way skateboarding does. It is for this reason, the ceremony this year was full of attitude, comedy, appreciation and total respect for those being inducted. The list of prolific names is long and heavy and the amount of fans in the building made this night truly unique. Congrats to all of the inductees of the evening and great job to all of the presenters as well as the nights always colorful host, David Hackett. There are a lot of pictures below that I was completely honored to take. Thank you skateboarding. – Words and photos and filming by Dan Levy. Filming by Vans Davey.

The International Association of Skateboard Companies (IASC) and the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame (ISHOF) are proud to announce the 2014 Skateboarding Hall of Fame inductees: Gregg Carroll (1960s), Jim Muir (1970s, Era One), Steve Olson (1970s, Era Two), Lance Mountain (1980s, Era One), Natas Kaupas (1980s, Era Two), and two women –Laurie Turner DeMott (1960s) and Ellen Oneal Deason (1970s).
2014 Icon Award recipients are Fausto Vitello,  J.Grant Brittain and Pipeline Skatepark / The Hoffman Family. Created in 2009, The Skateboarding Hall of Fame recognizes and honors the history of skateboarding and those influential figures who have significantly shaped skateboarding and our culture throughout the years.

Submit Comment

Post a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Juice is an interview magazine featuring skateboarding, surfing, art and music. Since 1993, Juice has been independently owned and dedicated to the core. Juice Magazine specializes in coverage of core skateboarders, surfers, musicians, skatepark builders, artists, photographers, rock n roll, metal, hardcore, pools, pipes & punk rock. Keep Skateboarding A Crime.
© 1993-2019 Juice Enterprises, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced by any means; electronic, mechanical, photocopy, or otherwise without the prior written permission of the copyright owner, photographers, writers, or artists named herein. Trademarks mentioned herein are the property of their respective owners.
%d bloggers like this: