Mi Sphere 360 Camera Review with Jeff Ho and Dan Levy

Jeff Ho, Skateboarding Hall of Fame Icon and International Surfboard Builders Hall of Famer, and Dan Levy, Assistant Editor, photographer and filmer for Juice Magazine, review the new Xiaomi Mi Sphere 360 Camera. It’s innovation for everyone.

Dan Levy says, “The Mi Sphere 360 is a camera with two lenses on it that shoots 180 degrees on both sides and it is one of the most revolutionary cameras I’ve ever worked with. It shoots full perspective 360, so you can shoot it in different modes like tiny planet, mirror ball, crystal ball, flat, pano and virtual reality mode. You can also shoot time-lapse clips and slow motions clips.

The Mi Sphere 360 camera is really small and compact, so you can literally keep it in your pocket in the cool case that comes with it. It also comes with a selfie stick, which doubles as a tripod. It’s really easy to use and it’s really fun to use. It opens up a new dimension to creative ways to shoot video and photos with new and unique perspectives.”

9 year old Sky Brown is amazing! She just got back from the grand opening of the new @Skateistan school in Cambodia…

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Sunday, February 25, 2018

Jeff Ho says, “The Mi Sphere 360 camera has a lens on both sides so you can get the whole room in the shot. You can get shots from the floor up for from the sky down, or you can hold it and get a panoramic 360 view of everything around you. It’s really lightweight and portable, so you can take it with you anywhere, and it’s really easy to operate. It’s awesome.”

Dan explained, “I skated down the Venice Beach boardwalk with it and we shot photos and video at the Venice Mardi Gras parade recently and it opens up a whole dimension to getting creative with a camera.

Venice Beach Mardi Gras Parade! #misphere360juice #misphere @mi.usa Photo by Dan Levy Mi Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Saturday, February 10, 2018

We shot with Chuck D from Public Enemy and Prophets of Rage at his first solo art show “Behind The Seen” and we shot 360 photos and video of the whole gallery with Jeff and Chuck D in it and it was cool. You get to feel like you’re there, no matter where you are or what you’re shooting. You get to see 360, so it’s like if you had eyes in the back of your head. It’s awesome.  We’ve had so much fun with this camera already, and we’re going to do so much more. It’s water resistant, so you can get near the ocean and you can take it out in the snow and the rain. It’s just a really good time. We highly recommend getting this camera. It’s really fun.”

360 view of the opening reception for Chuck D's first solo art show. Chuck D is a multi-platinum recording artist, a…

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Monday, March 5, 2018

The editing capabilities within the Mi Sphere Camera app open up a whole new world to what you can do with your Mi Sphere 360 clips and photos. The Mi Sphere Camera app offers a full range of options for tethering to your phone and shooting photos and recording video without having to be in the images or clips. You can be up to 50 meters away from the camera and operate the camera from your phone. You can edit your photos and clips in the app, as well as set up a timer for shooting group shots.

Juice world photo captured with Mi Sphere 360 Camera with sketch filter using mirror ball view. #MiSphere360Juice

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Friday, March 9, 2018

The app includes multiple filters to have fun with including “fleet”, which has a sepia tone feel, and “youth”, which has a vibrant tone, and “toon”, which gives you an animation style shot and “sketch”, which turns your photos and video into a drawing with sketch effects. You can also take screen shots from your photos and video clips if you see a cool angle or perspective that you want to share on social media.

The camera comes with a selfie stick, a camera pouch, a user manual and a USB cable for charging that you can plug into any outlet. The top of the camera has a power/mode button, a mic, as well as a Wi-Fi button and indicator, and a Shutter/OK button. The front of the camera has the lens, battery indicator, a photo status indicator, and a video status indicator, which you can set to show a blue light when it’s turned on. The power/mode button allows you to switch manually from video to photo in the blink of an eye. The bottom of the camera includes the buzzer indicator, the tripod thread, charging contacts and the selfie stick lock. The side of the camera contains the slot for your microSD card and mini-USP port for charging the camera.

Lonny Hiramoto, Matt Lemond, Shota Kubo , Lester Kasai, Bennett Harada, Lance Mountain, Pat Ngoho, Christian Hosoi,…

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Monday, February 12, 2018

It’s very important to get the best microSD memory cards to capture all of your excellent Mi Sphere 360 clips and photos. Recommended microSD cards include: Sandisk Extreme US 32G (SDSQXNE-032G-ZN6MA), Sandisk Extreme ProUS 32G (SDSDQXP-032G-Z46A), Kington Us 32G (SDCA3), Kingston US 32G (SDCAC), Lexar 1000x U3 32G, Lexar 633x 32G, Transcend U3 V30 32g, or the Sony u3 16G (SR-16UX2).

Through the Mi Sphere Camera app, you can also control resolution, ISO, white balance, exposure compensation, recording cycle, remaining video time, exposure time, bracketing, download controls, WiFi settings, memory card formatting, preview mode, auto turn off, buzzer sounds and LED light as well as camera gyro calibration.

Marky Clements 360 view of the Church bowl and more! Mi #misphere360juice Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Tuesday, February 20, 2018

The Mi Sphere 360 also has a built-in phone gyroscope to bring stability and different exciting viewpoints to your photos and clips. You can also preset the video recording for short 10 second videos or determine the time length in the presets or you can film for as long as your memory card will hold. For example, if you have a 16GB memory card, you would be able to record for 50 minutes!

Powerplant Choppers, LA’s go-to shop for custom motorcycles by designer Yaniv Evan. 7414 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA. Shot by Dan Levy with #MiSphere360Cam

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Thursday, March 8, 2018

You can record a 2k sports event video at 60 frames per second, or a 4k HD video at 30 frames per second, and adjust ISO, exposure and white balance to record a video in low light. You can take this camera anywhere and it’s great for filming day or night, as well as in the sun and snow, rain or shine.

@PoppyStarr @Brightonzeuner @IndigoSkates @Julzlynnkn @BryceWettstein @Sakura_yosozumi @Biasodre @leticia_Sk8 @…

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Check out some of the sample photos and video that we’ve captured with the Mi Sphere 360 camera here, and purchase these Mi Sphere 360 cameras on Amazon.com for $299.99 at https://www.amazon.com/xiaomi

Juice Magazine #tinyplanet #SidVicious #CRStecykArt #DebbieHarry #PanhandleSlim #TonyAlva #DogtownandZBoys #MikiDora…

Posted by Terri Craft on Sunday, March 4, 2018

Connect with Mi Sphere Social Networks:

Lonny Hiramoto, Matt Lemond, Shota Kubo , Lester Kasai, Bennett Harada, Lance Mountain, Pat Ngoho, Christian Hosoi,…

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Monday, February 12, 2018

Happy 3rd Birthday to @riotgetsradical !!! captured with Mi Sphere 360 Photo by Dan Levy JUICE MAGAZINE #LosAngeles #Venice #California #360cam #MiSphere360Juice #mispherecamera Mi Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Saturday, January 27, 2018

Cape Fear River Downtown Wilmington North Carolina with Marky Clements Mi #misphere360juice Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Sky Brown skates Venice Skatepark

Sky & Ocean Awsmkids just got back from Cambodia after opening a new Skateistan Cambodia facility and had to get a quick venice session in. filmed by Dan Levy with Mi #misphere #misphere360juice Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Saturday, February 24, 2018

@vanswarpedtour Kick Off Party w/ @KevinLyman , Save Ferris, Mainsail and 3Oh!3 at @Vans 📸 @juicedan #MiSphere360Juice ・・・ THE FINAL VANS WARPED TOUR TOUR LINEUP⠀ https://vanswarpedtour.com⠀ ⠀ JOURNEYS LEFT FOOT:⠀ @3oh3 | 6/21-8/5⠀ @askingalexandria | 7/22-7/28⠀ @beartoothband | 7/19-7/21⠀ @bfs_official | 7/6-7/16 & 7/18-7/21⠀ @frankturner | 7/24-7/26⠀ @interrupstagram | **see website for dates⠀ @knucklepuckil | 6/21-8/5⠀ @maydayparadeband | 6/21-8/5⠀ @reelbigfish | 6/21-8/5⠀ @statechampsny | 6/21-8/5⠀ @SUM41 | 7/17⠀ @takingbacksunday | 6/24⠀ @thiswildlife | 6/21-8/5⠀ @waterparks | 6/21-8/5⠀ ⠀ JOURNEYS RIGHT FOOT:⠀ @alltimelow | 6/22-6/24⠀ @fallinginreverse | 6/26-7/16⠀ @fouryearstrong | 6/21-7/29⠀ @ISSUES | 6/21-8/5⠀ @lessthanjake | *see web for dates⠀ @movementsofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ @realfriendsband | 6/21-8/5⠀ @simpleplan | 6/21-8/5⠀ @themaineband | 6/21-8/5⠀ @theused | 6/21-7/10⠀ @tonightaliveofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ @wethekings | 6/21-8/5⠀ ⠀ MUTANT RED DAWN:⠀ @chelseagrinofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ @deeznutsdtd | 6/21-8/5⠀ @ice9kills | 6/21-8/5⠀ @kublaikhantx | 6/21-8/5⠀ @mychildrenmybride | 6/21-8/5⠀ @sharptoothmd | 6/21-8/5⠀ @silverstein | 7/17-7/20 & 7/25-7/28⠀ @theamityaffliction | 6/21-8/5⠀ @officialtwiztid | 6/21-8/5⠀ @wagewarofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ ⠀ MUTANT WHITE LIGHTNING:⠀ @abrband | 7/29-8/5⠀ @crowntheempire | 6/21-8/5⠀ @dayseeker | 6/21-8/5⠀ @everytimeidie | 6/21-8/5⠀ @hailthesun | 6/21-8/5⠀ @harmsway13 | 6/21-7/23⠀ @inheartswake | 6/21-8/5⠀ @knockedloosehc | 7/10, 7/18, 7/21, 7/24⠀ @miwband | 6/21-8/5⠀ @nekrogoblikonofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ @underoathband | 7/16-7/18⠀ @unearthofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ ⠀ OWLY.FM STAGE⠀ @asitisofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ @assumingwesurvive | 6/21-8/5⠀ @broadsideofficial | 7/10-8/5⠀ @capstan_band | 7/10-8/5⠀ @chaseatlantic | 6/21-8/5⠀ @deadgirlsacademy | 6/21-7/8⠀ @dollskinband | 6/21-8/5⠀ @donbroco | 6/21-8/5⠀ @grayscalepa | 6/21-8/5⠀ @makeoutofficial | 6/21-8/5⠀ @palayeroyale | 6/21-8/5⠀ @phinehasband | 6/21-7/8⠀ @picturesqueband | 6/21-7/8⠀ @sleeponitband | 7/10-8/5⠀ @storyuntoldca | 6/21-8/5⠀ @trashboatuk | 6/21-8/5⠀ @withconfidenceband | 6/21-8/5⠀ ⠀ #vanswarpedtour #warpedtour #foreverwarped

A post shared by JUICE MAGAZINE (@juicemagazine) on

Downhill Dogs Venice Rob Dog, Seven and Peck stake their claim on the Venice boardwalk. #DownhillDogsVenice Robert…

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Powerplant Choppers presents The Shrine with Corey Parks… A power trio of Fender Axes, Marshall Amps, Ludwig Vistalite drums. I spy Steve Olson in the crowd. Filming by Dan Levy with #MiSphere360Cam

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Thursday, March 8, 2018

Haden McKenna, Isiah Hilt, Juice Dan Levy, Venice Beach Photos Ray Rae Goldman, Paralympian Kanya Sesser, Stuntman Jake…

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Thursday, March 8, 2018

 

Xiaomi Mi Sphere 360 Camera Technical Review:

Xiaomi was founded in 2010 by serial entrepreneur, Lei Jun, who believes that high-quality technology doesn’t need to cost a fortune. Xiaomi creates remarkable hardware, software and internet services for and with the help of its Mi fans.

Mi Sphere Camera Kit 360 Degree Panoramic Camera 23.88MP 3.5K Video Recording

  • 360° field of view for an unlimited experience, up to 75 minutes of video recording
  • High-resolution 23.88MP (6912*3456) camera. You see life in high-quality, you should record it that way too
  • 3.5K recording for the video adventurers out there, supports up to 3456×1728/30fps or 2304×1152/60fps
  • IP67 water/dust proofing is weather ready when you are. Bring it on an adventure
  • 6-axis electronic image stabilization keeps recordings crisp and clear. Use it when skydiving, playing sports, or other high-speed activities
  • You can purchase a Mi Sphere Camera Kit 360 Degree Panoramic Camera here. 
If you're viewing this blog post on your phone, 
click these links to see some of the videos we have taken 
with the Mi Sphere 360 Camera to get the 360 degree experience:

VENICE BEACH SUNDOWN SHORELINE

www.facebook.com/dan.levy.756/videos/10156062678204253/

VENICE BEACH BOARDWALK SKATE 360 DAN

www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155306572747253/

BENNETT HARADA COMBI SKATE RUN BY DAN

https://www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155317936972253/

VENICE MARDI GRAS PARADE 360 VIDEO BY DAN

https://www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155341951842253/

CHRISTIAN HOSOI 360 FULL PIPE SKATE BY DAN

https://www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155322167102253/

SKY BROWN INTERVIEW BY JEFF HO 360 PREVIEW CLIP

https://www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155383186912253/

PAT NGOHO 360 FULL PIPE SKATE BY DAN

https://www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155334193652253/

MARKY CLEMENTS VENICE 360 VIDEO BY DAN

https://www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155357234247253/

TOMMY SONIC, STUNTMAN JAKE, ISIAH HILT, SKY BROWN VENICE 360 VID

https://www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155409297067253/

SKATE BARN HAMPSTEAD NORTH CAROLINA 360

https://www.facebook.com/marky.clements/videos/10213167216789899/

CHUCK D OF PUBLIC ENEMY & PROPHETS OF RAGE ART SHOW 360 VIEW www.facebook.com/JuiceMagazine/videos/10155400742057253/

Venice Beach 🏆 Taken with Xiaomi Mi Sphere 360 🏆 Filming by Dan Levy #losAngeles #Venice #california #360cam #MiSphereCamera #Mi #shotonxiaomimisphere360camera Xiaomi Mi USA #MiSphere360Juice

Posted by Dan Levy on Monday, January 29, 2018

Venice Beach Boardwalk Skate with Xiaomi Mi Sphere 360

Venice Beach Boardwalk 360. 🏆 Taken with Mi Sphere 360 🏆 Filming by Dan Levy #LosAngeles #Venice #California #360cam #MiSphereCamera Mi #MiSphere360Juice Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Saturday, January 27, 2018

Bennett Harada Vans Combi 360 Run

Bennet Harada Vans Combi Run 360 style filmed with Mi Sphere 360 #360cam #misphere360 #360 Mi Mi USA #littleplanet #tinyplanetphotography #MiSphere360Juice 🏆

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Venice Beach Mardi Gras Parade 360

Venice Beach Mardi Gras Parade 360. #misphere360juice #misphere Mi Mi USA #venicebeach #mardigras Filming by Dan Levy

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Saturday, February 10, 2018

Christian Hosoi Skates full pipe at MaxfieldLA

Christian Hosoi 🎥 Dan Levy 🏁🏁🏁 Maxfield #osterstyle #fullpipe #party #adaptationofficial Dogtown Skateboards Vans #scottoster #daggerbuiltramps #skateboarding #skateboardingforlife #sk8 🏆 filmed with Mi Sphere 360 🏆 #LosAngeles #California #360cam #misphere360 #mispherecamera #MiSphere360Juice Mi Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Friday, February 2, 2018

Sky Brown interview by Jeff Ho at Juice

9 year old super grom, and skateboarding ambassador, Sky Brown, came by the Juice Magazine office today to be interviewed by surf/skate icon, Jeff Ho, for the next issue of JUICE MAGAZINE. Here is a sneak preview of what went down… Filming by Dan Levy on Mi Sphere 360 Cam. Mi USA Click and drag on the video to get the 360 view. Mi #surf #skate #MiSphere360Juice #giveback #almostskateboards #roxy #pridesocks #ronineyewear #vertra #xsunified #girlpower #9yearsold #skatergirl #inspiration #skateboarder #surfer #supergrom Sky & Ocean Awsmkids

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Monday, February 26, 2018

Pat Ngoho at Maxfield 360 Version

360 Version of Pat Ngoho Cruising while Lance Mountain is on deck. Filming by Dan Levy with #misphere360juice Mi Mi USA #misphere #dogtown #adaptation #maxfield Maxfield

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Venice Beach 360 Skate with Marky Clements​

Venice Beach 360 Skate with Marky Clements filmed by Juice Dan #misphere360juice Mi #misphere Mi USA

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Friday, February 16, 2018

Sonic Tommy Stuntman Jake Isiah Hilt and Sky Brown at Venice Skatepark

Sonic Tommy Calvert, Stuntman Jake Familton, Isiah Hilt and AwsmKids Sky Brown ready to rip ride at the Venice Skatepark. Filming by Dan Levy with #MiSphere360Cam

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Thursday, March 8, 2018

Posted by Marky Clements on Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Chuck D "Behind The Seen" Art Show

360 Walk through of the opening reception for Chuck D's first solo art show. Chuck D is a multi-platinum recording artist, a Rock And Roll Hall of Fame inductee, and a revolutionary. In his first exhibition of fine art, the legendary frontman of Public Enemy and Prophets of Rage is showcasing his works in an exhibition titled “Behind the Seen”. Filming by Dan Levy @JUICE MAGAZINE (Shot with #misphere360juice #misphere Mi Mi USA) at Gallery 30 South, which is located at 30 S. Wilson Avenue, Pasadena, California . The hours for the gallery are Wednesday-Friday 11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. and Saturday/Sunday from 12 Noon – 6:00 p.m. The exhibit opens today and will run through the month. For more information, please visit: http://gallery30south.com/chuckd/

Posted by JUICE MAGAZINE on Monday, March 5, 2018

Submit Comment

Post a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

JUICE MAGAZINE | 319 OCEAN FRONT WALK #1, VENICE, CA 90291 | (310) 399.5336 | [email protected]
Juice is an interview magazine featuring skateboarding, surfing, art and music. Since 1993, Juice has been independently owned and dedicated to the core. Juice Magazine specializes in coverage of core skateboarders, surfers, musicians, skatepark builders, artists, photographers, rock n roll, metal, hardcore, pools, pipes & punk rock. Keep Skateboarding A Crime.
ABOUT | CONTACT | INDEX | NEWSLETTER | INTERNSHIPS | LINKS | SITEMAP | ADVERTISE | LETTERS | TERMS AND CONDITIONS | PRIVACY POLICY
© 1993-2018 Juice Enterprises, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced by any means; electronic, mechanical, photocopy, or otherwise without the prior written permission of the copyright owner, photographers, writers, or artists named herein. Trademarks mentioned herein are the property of their respective owners.